Although small, quiet and unpretentious, Bayeux is a town with an impressive history.
It was from Bayeux that William the Conqueror set out to invade England in 1066. The details of his departure, the battle Hastings, the death of the English King Harold and William’s coronation as King of England are chronicled in the famous Bayeux Tapestry. The tapestry, which is in fact an embroidery, was said to have been created by William the Conqueror’s wife, Mathilde and her ladies in waiting. 70 metres long and 50 centimetres high, it depicts more than 600 people, 200 horses, 40 ships and hundreds of animals and mythological figures.
The tapestry was originally displayed in the magnificent Norman Romanesque Cathedral of Notre Dame, built by William’s half brother Odo of Conteville, which dominates the Bayeux skyline even today. Ironically, it was here that Harold Goodwinson of England had taken an oath on ancient relics to support William as the successor to the English throne. When he broke his oath and took the throne himself, William went to war against him. The tapestry can now be viewed in the Bayeux Tapestry Museum.
Much later, Bayeux was to play an equally important role in another invasion, this time, not as the point of departure but as the point of arrival. On June, 6 1944, the Allied forces landed on the beaches just north of the Bayeux. It was the first French town liberated from Nazi occupation in the Battle Normandy and it was to Bayeux that General Charles De Gaulle returned to make his first speech on free French soil, on June 16, 1944.